Fuel for the Fire

Show me where it hurts...

I guess I got a better workout than I thought I did yesterday. I woke up and everything was burning. This is always a good feeling, though it’s a reminder that I’ve done a bit more backsliding over the past few months than I had realized.

I ran 5 miles with my wife today. I’m trying to get my new RunKeeper app on my Android to work, but it seemed to miss the first 3/4 mile of my run so my stats were off. I did learn that it talks to me during my run, which would be helpful if I got it to work right. Instead, we relied on the Garmin Forerunner 110 that I got her for Christmas. So far, the watch works great. I heard that RunKeeper Pro is free for download at Google Marketplace this month, so I’d recommend grabbing it. I’ve heard a lot of good things, and I chalk my issues up to user error.

One of the things I love about running is it seems to work out all the soreness I may be experiencing. I kind of like being sore, because it reminds me I’m doing the right thing, but I like working through it even more. It’s like adding fuel to the fire, it just stops hurting when you’re working hard enough.

After the run I did some post-workout stretches. I feel exponentially tighter than I did the last time I stretched, which was too long ago. I hope to gain the flexibility back soon, and will have to make a point to stretch everyday.

About Ken

An average guy trying to get fit without getting bored.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment